AEROSPACE : 3DCERAM, The leading 3D ceramic printing company installs their first CERAMAKER ® 900 in Ukraine.

 1 March 2018

The Ukrainian engineering firm ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko has choosen the technology provided by 3DCERAM, the pioneer and world leader in 3D ceramic printing for the manufacturing of their foundry cores.

3Dceram continues the sales of its CERAMAKER ® 900 printers across the world. As part of its strategy to develop and conquer new markets, the French based team has been selected to install the first 3D printer CERAMAKER® 900 in the Ukrainian factory, ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko, with the aim of developing and manufacturing of complex casting cores for turbine blades.

Because the aerospace industry is constantly seeking to optimize the performance of its equipment ( satellites, measurement tools, optical instrumentation…) by ex-ploiting the properties of ceramics, 3DCERAM works in close collaboration with the big players in the aerospace sector for the design and topological optimization of parts. With this background and more production achievements of complex parts for the aeronautics sector, the French expertise company was selected by the Ukrainian company.

ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko is a mechanical engineering design office that develops and manufactures aircraft engines, gas turbines and combustion engines .Specialized in this field for over 70 years, it is one of the jewels of the Ukrainian industry.

In 2014, to try and solve the issues relating to the production of ceramic cores for the manufacturing of turbine blades. ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko undertook a market research case and chose 3DCERAM amongst three European manufacturers, because the company had their own research laboratory and production center. The team of experts exploit all aspects of the steps essential to the production for ceramic cores. 3DCERAM collaborates with IRCER ( the institute of research od ceramics) in Limoges on the development of new materials.

Since last October, the first CERAMAKER ® 900 designed and manufactured in France, has been installed in the plant of the company ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko, based in Zaporizhia in the south of the country. To carry out the correct implantation of its deployment, a 3DCERAM team was on site for 2 weeks for installation and ensured the smooth running of the various stages of the manufacturing process.
The purchase of the CERAMAKER® 900 is part of a collaboration with the R&D department of the factory that develops new designs of casting cores and turbine blades.
The CERAMAKER ® 900 will also allow the ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko teams the possibility of reducing the scrap rate on parts by more than 50%.

‘ The mission was realised within the agreed timeline with a great professionalism. Thanks to the great synergy and teamwork, ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko now has all the necessary equipment for the production of ceramic cores and we can adapt the technology 3DCERAM has provided us with to our parts’ explains Eduard Kondraytuk, Chef of Technology at ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko.

Additive Manufacturing brings a new dimension to the usual industrial process. Today designs of foundry cores are becoming more complex and to make a porous ceramic foundry core, the method consists in making the core into several pieces and then assembling them manually, in particular by gluing. In addition to saving time and increasing productivity, 3DCeram’s breakthrough and excellence technology delivers the following benefits:

  • Flexibility of design,
  • Quick creation of new designs,
  • Better responsiveness and productivity,
  • Increased profitibility,
  • Maintaining the strengths of ceramics,
  • Premium quality: no alteration of the quality of the realization, inherent to the ceramics.

Since the project has started, it has already been noted that the quality of ceramics printed by the CERAMAKER ® 900 is similar to the ceramics currently used by more traditional processes.

As part of this agreement 3DCERAM has developed a bespoke design process for this type of ceramic cores by 3D printing. The mission of 3DCERAM is to encourage and allow ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko to be autonomous and productive, as quickly as possible.

According to Richard Gaignon, co-director of 3DCeram ‘The collaboration with these renowned aeronautics actor legitimizes the excellence of our 3D ceramic printing technology. Ceramic materials are very resistant and with unusual physicochemical properties (resistance ti corrosion, electrical insulation ..) After the success of our first satellite mirrors, which are a milestone in the development of our company and represent a significant advance for the aerospace sector, the manufacturing of foundry cores for turbine blades will be a new challenge for the future of ceramic 3D printing!

AERONAUTIQUE : 3DCERAM, N°1 DE L’IMPRESSION 3D CÉRAMIQUE INSTALLE SA PREMIERE IMPRIMANTE 3D CERAMAKER® 900 EN UKRAINE !

 1 mars 2018

Le bureau d’études ukrainien ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko choisit la technologie 3DCeram, pionnier et leader mondial de l’impression 3D céramique, pour la fabrication de ses noyaux de fonderie.

3DCeram poursuit la vente de ses imprimantes CERAMAKER® partout dans le monde. Dans le cadre de sa stratégie de développement et de conquête de nouveaux marchés, une équipe française de 3DCeram a été détachée pour installer la première imprimante 3D CERAMAKER® 900 dans l’usine ukrainienne, ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko. Objectif : développer et fabriquer les nouveaux designs de noyaux de fonderie pour les aubes de turbine.

Parce que l’industrie aérospatiale cherche en permanence à optimiser les perfor-mances de ses équipements (satellites, outils de mesure, instrumentation optique…) en exploitant notamment les propriétés de la céramique, 3DCeram, travaille en étroite collaboration avec les grands noms du secteur de l’aérospatial dans la con-ception et l’optimisation topologique des pièces. Fort de cette renommée et des nombreuses réalisations de pièces pour le secteur aéronautique, la société tricolore a été retenue par la société ukrainienne ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko .

ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko est un bureau d’étude de construction mécanique qui consiste à développer et à fabriquer des moteurs d’avions, des turbines à gaz et moteurs à combustion. Spécialisée dans ce domaine depuis plus de 70 ans, elle constitue l’un des fleurons de l’industrie ukrainienne.

Depuis octobre dernier, la première CERAMAKER® 900, conçue et fabriquée en France, a été installée dans l’usine de la société ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko , basée à Zaporijia, dans le sud du pays. Pour procéder à la bonne mise en œuvre de son déploiement, une équipe de 3DCERAM s’est rendue spécialement sur place durant 2 semaines, et s’est assurée du bon déroulement des différentes étapes de fabrication.

L’achat de la CERAMAKER 900 s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une collaboration avec le département R&D de l’usine qui développe les nouveaux designs de noyaux de fonderie pour les aubes de turbine.
La CERAMAKER 900 va également permettre aux équipes de ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko la possibilité de diminuer de plus de 50% le taux de rebus sur les pièces.

L’Additive Manufacturing apporte donc une nouvelle dimension aux procédés industriels habituels. Aujourd’hui, les designs de noyaux de fonderie sont de plus en plus complexes et pour fabriquer un noyau de fonderie en céramique poreuse, la méthode consiste à fabriquer le noyau en plusieurs pièces, puis à les assembler manuellement, notamment par collage. Outre le gain de temps et l’accroissement de la productivité, la technologie disruptive et d’excellence de 3Dceram apporte les bénéfices suivants :

  • Flexibilité à la conception,
  • Création rapide de nouveaux designs,
  • Meilleure réactivité et productivité,
  • Accroissement de la rentabilité,
  • Maintien des atouts de la céramique,
  • Qualité premium : aucune altération de la qualité des réalisation, inhérente à la céramique.

En amont de ce projet, il a déjà été constaté que la qualité de la céramique imprimée par la CERAMAKER 900, est à minima similaire, aux céramiques actuellement utilisées par des procédés plus traditionnels.

Dans le cadre de cet accord, 3DCERAM a élaboré un protocole sur-mesure pour designer cette typologie de pièces par impression 3D céramique. La mission de 3DCeram étant de permettre aux équipes d’ZMDB “Progress” named after Academician O.H.Ivchenko d’être autonome et productif le plus rapidement possible.

Pour Richard Gaignon, co-dirigeant de 3DCeram : « La collaboration avec cet acteur de renom de l’aéronautique vient légitimer l’excellence de notre technologie d’impression 3D céramique. Les matériaux céramiques sont très résistants et avec des propriétés physicochimiques hors du commun (tenue à la corrosion, isolation électrique…). Après la succès de nos premiers miroirs satellites, qui font date dans l’histoire de notre société et qui constituent une avancée significative pour le secteur de l’aérospatial, la fabrication de noyaux de fonderie pour les aubes de turbine constituera un nouveau challenge à relever pour le futur de l’impression 3D céramique ! »